Twelfth Annual Meeting of the Association of Centers for the Study of Congress

Center for Legislative Archives, National Archives and Records Administration

May 13-15, 2015

May 13, 2015, Wednesday



12:30 p.m.


1:30 p.m.

Announcement of Election Results

Welcome by Program Committee

Welcome by Outgoing ACSC President Frank Mackaman

Welcome by Incoming ACSC President

2:00 p.m.

Session 1: Keynote – Andrew Rich, Executive Secretary, Truman Scholarship Foundation – Think Tanks and the War of Ideas

2:45 p.m.


3:00 p.m.

Session 2: Demo of “Bill of Rights” App – Charles Flanagan, Center for Legislative Archives, NARA

Tour of “Spirited Republic: Alcohol in American History”–

Bruce Bustard, Curator, NARA

4:00 p.m.

Session 3: Business Meeting

Introduce Officers and Committee Chairs

Introduce Winners of Scholarships and Awards

Membership Report

Preview Executive Committee Agenda and Potential Membership Action Items

News Roundup from Members

5:30 p.m.


May 14, 2015, Thursday

8:00 a.m.

Executive Committee Meeting

8:30 a.m.

Coffee and Danish

9:00 a.m.

Session 4: You’ve Got a Friend in Me:  Passion and Purpose in Congressional Collections          

Debbie Davendonis-Todd (Moderator), Bob Bullock Archivist, W.R. Poage Legislative Library, Baylor University

Clarissa Unger, Development Coordinator, Dole Institute of Politics

David Cortes, Development Officer, Baylor University

Fowler West, Staff Director for Congressman Poage, 1969-1971

10:00 a.m.


10:15 a.m.

Session 5: Assembling, Amplifying, Ascending: A Roundtable Discussion about Women in Congress Since the 1980s     

Matthew Wasniewski (Moderator), Historian, U.S. House of Representatives

Eva Clayton (D-North Carolina)

Barbara Kennelly (D-Connecticut)            

Connie Morella (R-Maryland)

11:45 P.M.


1:00 P.M.

Session 6: Jump In! Electronic Congressional Records Edition

Laura Litwer (Moderator), Digital Initiatives Archivist, South Carolina Political Collections, University of South Carolina

Mark Evans, History Associates, Inc., Director of Digital Archives, Interim Director of Information Resources Management Service

Katie Delacenserie, Archivist, U.S. Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee

Matt Stahl, U.S. Senate Commerce, Science, and Transportation Committee

Alison White, Deputy Archivist, U.S. Senate

2:00 P.M.


2:15 P.M.

Session 7: Research in Congressional Holdings

James Wyatt (Moderator), Director of Programs and Research, Robert C. Byrd Center for Legislative Studies, Shepherd University

Neal Allen, Assistant Professor of Political Science, Wichita State University

Carly Goodman, Temple University

Katherine A. Scott, Assistant Historian, U.S. Senate Historical Office

3:15 P.M.


3:30 P.M.

Session 8: Business Meeting

Action Items for Membership Vote

Treasurer’s Report


Items Brought from the Executive Committee

President’s Report

Next Year’s Annual Meeting Host and Dates

Preview of Continuing or Upcoming Projects

Open Discussion

5:00 P.M.


6:30 P.M.

Dinner at Clyde’s

May 15, 2015           Friday

8:30 A.M.

Coffee and Danish

9:00 A.M.

Session 9:  The Great Society Congress:  An Online Exhibition

James Wyatt, Director of Programs and Research, Robert C. Byrd Center for Legislative Studies, Shepherd University

Danielle Emerling, Assistant Librarian, Manuscripts and Archives Department, University of Delaware Library

Debbie Davendonis-Todd, Bob Bullock Archivist, W.R. Poage Legislative Library, Baylor University

Hope Grebner, Political Papers Archivist, Drake University Archives and Special Collections

10:15 A.M.


10:30 A.M.

Session 10: Oral History Collections and the Voting Rights Act

Donald A. Ritchie (Moderator), Historian, U.S. Senate

Jacqueline Burns, Historical Publications Specialist, Office of the Historian, U.S. House of Representatives

Callie Holmes, Oral History and Media Archivist, Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies, University of Georgia

Ida Jones, Assistant Curator,Manuscript Division, Moorland-Spingarn Research Center, Howard University

11:45 A.M.


Executive Committee meeting [if necessary]      

12:45 P.M.

Conference Ends